California Teen Driving Laws: What You Need to Know Before You Go

California Teen Driving Laws What You Need to Know Before You Go

Share This Post

In California, car accidents are the main cause of death among teenagers. Teen drivers need to be trained and encouraged to drive safely. California has a program known as the Graduated Driver Licensing Laws that aims to teach new drivers safe driving techniques.

This makes it easier for inexperienced drivers to learn driving skills in a secure setting. Before getting a full license, potential drivers can gain critical skills and information through a structured procedure that involves many levels. In this blog, we will cover a wide range of California teen driving Laws that impact teenage drivers.

Essential California Traffic Law for Teenage Drivers 

Learner’s Permit

For those who are looking to start driving in California, they need to know about California teen driving laws and a learner’s permit first. As a teenage driver, you are not allowed to operate any vehicle without a proper permit. If you want to get your learner’s permit in California, you need to be at least 15.5 years old. Also, you need to complete a state-approved driver’s ed course.

If you did not complete driver’s ed, you need to wait until you are 17.5 years old to apply again. Once you complete the course and are between 15.5 and 18 years old, you need to visit the DMV for a visual and writing exam.

Once you complete the test, you can get a provisional instruction permit, also known as a “learner’s permit“. You can attend a driving school to help you pass the exam. They will also help you learn about the process of driving’s ed before the DMV exam.

Restrictions with Learner’s Permit in California

Even when you get your learner’s permit, there are a few restrictions you need to follow. You will always need a California-licensed driver of over 25 years to sit beside you whenever you drive. This supervision will help you gain more experience in a safe environment. Also, you cannot drive at night.

Provisional Driver’s License

Once you get the learner’s permit, you can get a provisional driver’s license. The eligibility for this is that you need to be at least 16 years old and have a learner permit for 6 months. You also need to complete the driver’s ed courses. This will make sure that you understand California teen driving laws for safely driving in California.

During the permit phase, you need to practice your driving. You will need a California licensed driver who is at least 25 years old. Also, you need 50 hours of driving practice and 10 hours of night-time practice. This will help you pass the behind-the-wheel drive test to get your driving license in California.

Restrictions with Provisional License in California

If you’re a teen driver in California, there are certain rules you need to follow to ensure safe driving. You’re not allowed to have passengers under 20 years old unless a licensed driver at least 25 years old is with you. To help you understand this responsibility, the Glendale-based Driving School can teach you how to avoid distractions and safely transport your passengers. You should also be aware that there’s a curfew between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM, during which you’re not allowed to drive.

Benefits of Getting a Provisional License for Teenage Driver 

Getting a provisional license through California teen driving laws allows you to drive with more freedom and gain valuable experience on the road. With this license, you will be able to practice driving during different hours and in varied conditions, which can help you develop the confidence you need to handle different driving situations. This important step sets the stage for driving independently and gives you a great sense of achievement.

Importance of Professional Driver’s Education in California

Safety First

According to California teen driving laws, safety is the first and foremost important for parents as their teenagers start to drive. Driving schools can help them learn more about how to drive and avoid any accidents. There are many independent studies that show a driver’s education, and In-Car driver training can lower the risk of a crash. With professional driving lessons, 65% of teenage drivers will make fewer driving errors.

Going Beyond the Basics 

One of the best things about driving schools is that they will teach more than you can find in the California Driver’s Handbook. Here are some of the training they offer.

Defensive Driving Techniques

These help teenagers recognize potential dangers and respond appropriately in an emergency.

Road Hazard Identification and Avoidance

Teens will gain knowledge about how to recognize and steer clear of common road dangers such as potholes, merging lanes, and black ice.

Risk Management 

Driving school’s experts can teach teenagers to assess risk while driving, which will help them make safe decisions.

California Traffic Laws

Our instructors will ensure teens are up-to-date on all the latest California teen driving laws.

Experienced Instructors

A team of certified driving instructors with extensive experience will teach teens at driving schools. The instructors are patient, understanding, and passionate about helping teens become safe and confident drivers. They can tailor their lessons to each student’s individual needs and learning style.

Flexible Scheduling

We recognize that teenagers have demanding schedules. To meet your needs, driving school in Glendale provides various schedule alternatives.

Conclusion

For first-time drivers in California, especially if they are teenagers, understanding the various California teen driving laws is essential. This will help them understand how to drive carefully within the law, as the various traffic laws are put in place to save lives. This is the first step for any teenage driver in California when they start their journey to get a driver’s license.  

If a teenage driver gets two violation points within a year, their license will be restricted for 30 days. If they accumulate three or more points in a year, they’ll face a six-month suspension and one-year probation.  

That’s why, in this blog, we have provided more information on California teen driving laws for teenage drivers. We have added information on learner permits and provisional licenses.  

As a prominent driving school in California, Click2Drive understands the requirement to learn more about traffic law for teen drivers. We have a decade of experience teaching teen drivers and making them full-fledged, responsible drivers. Book an appointment today and complete your driving dream safely and securely.

 

More To Explore

Free Drivers Ed

16 & 5 Months old?

Start FREE Online Driver's Ed

what to expect at your dmv drive test

how to pass your DMV driving test

Tell us where to send the video to.